National Novel Writing Month 2015 Update #1

Hello friends,

6853d4e5023f208b2fde06a7f83d7e85e856b60765e8c91217eebd074ad69bf5_-original

I just wanted to give a quick update on my progress so far. We’re heading towards the end, and I’ve managed to keep up with my word count. I did say on twitter that goal was to finish the novel for this month, but that doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen. I’m okay with that because I’ve made tremendous progress on the novel itself. I had half an outline prepared for NaNoWriMo, and I’ve followed it for the most part.

I like to do half an outline when I’m just starting on a writing project because it leaves me a little wiggle room to go this and that way with the plot and the characters. Wow, did my characters take me off path and then right back on it to follow the outline. It was a lot of fun to see that happen. Usually, I keep pretty close to the outline, however this time I found myself adding other characters and other side plots, which I think just helps to make the story more interesting. I’m currently sitting at 33k right now. I have missed a few days, but I was able to pick right back up with it and get back on track the next day. I tried not to let myself get more than a day behind.

I’m very proud of this project so far. I think having three finished projects under my belt has helped to improve my writing quite a bit. I haven’t really had a good writing year for 2015, so if I can finish this or most of it, I feel like I’ve accomplished something.

Good luck to you and your projects for Nano or not.

Leave a Reply

