The Editing of Rise of the Wicked: Part Three

Hello friends,

It took a while, but I am happy to say that I am finally done with my read through of Rise of the Wicked.

applause_zps96b5dc1a

I’ll try to discuss some of the process and what worked for me. The first thing that I did was to get a notebook to write my basic notes and what acutally happened in each chapter. Next, I printed off a copy of Rise of the Wicked. I went chapter by chapter reading through each scene and writing down notes on the actual manuscript in red pen.

I thought that going chapter by chapter would make the whole process a lot easier, and it worked for me. Now what works for me may not work for everyone. It was kind of a hit or miss thing to see what made the editing process go smoother for me. After that, I would go through a chapter reading it and making notes. Then, I went to my notebook and wrote down what characters appeared, the sequence of events in the chapter, and some things that I noticed while reading.

I did this for all twenty-four chapters. It took a while, but I managed to finish my editing process and gathering notes. Of course, I am not done. This was just one part of the editing process for me, but at least this stage has been completed.

Now, I must go through my manuscript on my computer and start making the changes that I wrote down in my notes. I had to take a hard look at some of the things I wrote and what needed to be changed.

Some of the things I noticed was that there wasn’t the right amount description in some scenes where it needed to be. The tone and atmosphere of some of the scenes needed more tension to them. I also realized that one of my characters wasn’t playing as big a role as I hoped. During the next rewrite, that’s going to be one of my main additions to the story. I also noticed that I need to rework my main character’s internal dialogue. The story is first person, and I need to find a way to really get into her head. I don’t feel like I’m digging deep enough. I think that I have some interesting side characters that are pretty funny, but one of them, bascially the love interest needs some work. I don’t want him to be a static character, so I need to make some changes to his relationship with my main character and make it more dynamic.

It also appeared to me that the second half was a lot stronger than the first half. The first half needs to capture the reader’s attention, so I definitely need to work on that. I am proud of what I’ve accomplished so far. I think I’m going to set Rise of the Wicked to the side and work on another project for the time being and let some things marinate.

Good luck to you and your projects.

 

Leave a Reply

