Balancing Writing and Life

Hello fellow writers,

challenge-accepted

I’ve been dealing with a lot of things these past couple of weeks. I just started a new job, and it’s leaving me a little stressed. I’m trying to find another job at the moment. I also started classes in getting my Master’s degree in English. It’s been very hard to find time to write and edit my works. I know plenty of people are dealing with the same thing. You have work and family, and sometimes it gets hard to find the time.

It gets frustrating and a little discouraging at times. I know the feeling can start to get to you. You start being a little too hard on yourself about it, but I think it goes with being a writer. You have to find the time to do the things that are important to you.

I wanted to make a writing schedule for the year 2015, but I’m still working on that. I just have to decide what projects I do have time to work for this year. I do want to finish Give Into the Night and edit the first book in the Amara Pace Chronicles and the first book in my fantasy series, The Guardians. I also wanted to start working on a new project. It’s a superhero series, and I’m just working out the worldbuilding and the chracters right now.

The key to balancing life and writing is to remind yourself that your writing is an important part of your life. I have to determine a schedule that’s right for me, and you have to find the schedule that works for you.

Don’t be too hard on yourself. Just remember that writing is an important of your life.

3 thoughts on “Balancing Writing and Life

  1. Kylie Betzner January 15, 2015 / 4:09 am

    Totally can relate. Job. Family. Family illness. All that good stuff going on right now, and marketing a new novel on top of just trying to finish the next one. It’s all about balance.

    Maybe to add to your writing schedule, you could try choosing one project at a time. Sounds like you’ve got a lot of cool ideas, but to try to tackle each one now might become even more overwhelming.

    Anyway, best of luck with the writing schedule!

    • Melena February 14, 2015 / 12:10 am

      I think you may have a point. I should probably just focus on the finished manuscripts right now.

      Good luck to you as well, and sorry for the late reply.

      • Kylie Betzner February 14, 2015 / 12:45 am

        Thank you very much, and good luck! In return, sorry for the late reply:)

Leave a Reply

