August and September Writing Challenges

Hello friends,

I’m just here to give you an update about what I’ve been working on. I recently created a twitter account for my writing, and I have to say that I’ve been enjoying it so far. I was so hesitant about using Twitter at first, but the writing community is so welcoming, supportive, and helpful that I’m glad I made the plunge.

While on Twitter, there is a group of awesome people (Kristy Acevedo, Sara Whitford, and Samantha Garman) that host a monthly writing challenge from July to September. Here’s the website to find out more information WritingChallenge.org. They and many other supportive writers were instrumental in helping me get to the place I am with my first book in my supernatural series. This was the same book that had been languishing on my computer for nearly two years, after my failed attempt to work on it NaNoWriMo 2012.

The key is to write at least 500 words a day to get you used to writing every day. It has been very helpful to me. Thanks to the August Writing Challenge and the September Writing Challenge, I was able to add over 15k words to my manuscript. I’m hoping to finish it before NaNo 2014, so I can write the sequel.

I’m still in the middle of writing it for this month, and I am determined to finish it this month or at least, to get very close to finishing it.

I just want to say thank you again to all the awesome people I met on twitter for all their support and cheerleading. It really helped me.

If you’re on Twitter, I encourage you to join in. It’s never too late to join in on the challenge.

Good luck to you and your projects. 🙂

Leave a Reply

