Putting Music To Your Novel

Hello friends,

It’s been a while. Right now, I’m trying to get over a cold. I have really been slacking on the writing front so getting sick didn’t really help at all. In the mean time of my procrastination, I managed to come up with a playlist for my novel Rise of the Wicked. There’s this awesome website I found that you can use to help with your musical inspiration 8tracks.com.

Here it is:

1. B.O.B. -Ghost in the Machine

2. Florence and the Machine-Seven Devils

3. Jen Titus- Oh Death

4. Imagine Dragons-Monster

5. Kid Cudi-Alive

6. Mikky Ekko- We Must Be Killers

7. Oh Land- Wolf and I

Do you see a theme? Hahahaha. I might have been a little heavy-handed, but I like the way it all sounds together. It’s basically supposed to remind you of my character’s journey. She’s not too accepting of what’s happening to her, until she finally realizes what’s going on and does what she needs to do to protect her family and her friends.

I think the key to finding the right music for your novel is to really think about what your story is about and try to search the titles of songs with specific key words. The next thing to do is to pick out themes in your novel and what type of message you’re trying to get across. Also, take a look at some of your favorite author’s playlists. See if any of the songs goes well with your novel. The website 8tracks.com is also a good place to look at potential songs for your own playlist.

If you got any recommendations that you might think goes with my theme, let me know.

3 thoughts on “Putting Music To Your Novel

  1. jeannemeeks August 7, 2014 / 3:45 am

    I’m curious. Once you have your playlist, how do you use it? Book trailer? Background music for your book events??? I have my songs, but haven’t thought of good ways to use them.

    • Melena August 7, 2014 / 4:24 am

      I mainly composed this particular playlist to help with my writing. Sometimes I play it before I sit down and write. It helps visualize the story better in my head. I would imagine that you can use your playlist for whatever you wanted to. I think taking one song from your playlist that you think will fit for a book trailer is a good idea.

      I have seen some authors simply post their playlist on their website for their readers to see and listen to. I think fans of your books would love seeing a ‘behind the scenes’ of your writing.

      • jeannemeeks August 8, 2014 / 3:07 am

        Okay. That makes sense. In my case, I wrote lyrics from the synopsis of my novel. Now that they’ve been put to music, I’m not sure what to do with the songs. Something will come about.

Leave a Reply

