To Finish or Not To Finish

tumblr_inline_mg8t23dyjN1r03k42

Okay, it hasn’t been that long. In my last post, I talked a little about my book for Camp NaNo and right now it sits at about 3,000 words, so I didn’t even come close to making my goal for the month. I was hard on myself for that, but I’m over it. I am determined to finish the projects that I have left languishing on my computer.

That means the first book in Rise of the Wicked needs to be finished. It’s sitting at 25,000 words at the moment. It’s pretty much halfway done.

The first book in The Guardians series is actually the one book that is the farthest along. It sits at 63,000 words and is near the finish line.

Then I will finish Give into the Night after those two have been done.

I have some other things in mind, but it’s best not to plan too far ahead because I need to actually finish something.

Is it hard for you to finish a project?

Sometimes I wonder why that is for me. I think it’s because you spend so much time planning this novel out, and then you start writing it. Slowly, you get just a little bit closer to finish it, and it hits you. Suddenly, you put that work to the side to do something else. I believe it might be because I’m not quite ready to finish it and move on. You want to stay in that world with the characters just a bit longer, even though it’s in desperate need for a good old editing.

I think this is one of the hardest things about being a writer, sitting your butt in that chair and writing that book and FINISHING IT.

Need some inspiration:

images

Leave a Reply

