Camp NaNoWriMo April 2014

Hi friends,

It’s almost the end of the month and the first month of Camp NaNo is coming to a close. I originally had a plan to write 50,000 words this month, unfortunately I had an off month. I had to lower my goal for this month to 10,000 words.

Next month, the goal is to finish the novel I started working on. It’s called Give into the Night. It’s kind of a dark supernatural comedy. It’s basically a satire on the Young Adult paranormal tropes in YA. I decided to switch the roles and have the girl be the supernatural creature and the guy be the human.

Some of the tropes that I’m thinking about including are:

1. The insta-love

2. The love triangle

3. Mysterious character

4. Too stupid to live actions done by characters

5. Add some stalking in there.

6. A bad boy character

There are some other things, but that’s basically it. I’ve been looking at some advice about writing a satire. I know I should avoid trying too hard. I should also put my characters in hilarious situations to see how they would react.

I also have two other novels that need to be finished. I would at least like to finish them before next NaNo in November. I think that’s about it.

Good luck to you on your projects.

 

4 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo April 2014

  1. Saynday's Elusive Muse April 28, 2014 / 3:18 am

    I like number 4. Flawed characters are always far more interesting. Great ideas here. Good luck with the writing. Keep me posted on how it goes for the month.

    • Melena April 28, 2014 / 4:35 am

      Thank you. 🙂

      I definitely agree with you there. No one wants to read about a perfect character that gets everything they want without doing anything or losing anything. It’s just not realistic. People make mistakes, and it has consequences.

      I will definitely make posts about my progress for the rest of the month and May.

  2. Bethany Hatheway April 28, 2014 / 3:25 pm

    Any words written is a victory! I set my goal for 20000 this month because I knew there was no way in hell I would get to 50000. I’m only 5000 words away from victory!
    Other tropes to consider are the evil albino (make him mistakenly evil or outrageously, comically evil) and glorious war of sisterly rivalry (but make it brothers with no real change in the ridiculousness of their catty comments).

    • Melena April 28, 2014 / 6:25 pm

      I really like those. Adding them to the list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

