And Then You Find Yourself Stopping

Hi fellow writers,

I have reached a dilemma. I have two unfinished manuscripts which are the first book in the Wicked series which has reached a standstill at 28,500 words and plot-wise it puts the book at the halfway mark. I have have not worked on this book in two years, except for revising a few chapters.

The other work that have stopped working on is The Guardians, Book One: Aether, which I wrote during NaNoWriMo. This is a lot further along than my other work. It stands at 50,059 words at the moment and needs at least 10,000 to 15,000 words to finish it. It will not take much to finish it.

The question that remains is why I haven’t I finished either manuscript. I began to question why I feel hesitant in finishing these two projects. They are both the beginning to two vastly different series that I’m working on. I believe it is the same reason why I have not been revising and submitting my short stories.

My mother just finished reading my only completed writing project so far, In the Beginning: The Guardians. (I assure you she is not one of the mother’s that think everything I write is good. She will let me know if something sucks.) She asked me the same question, “Why haven’t I been sending my work out?”

I think it is a combination of things. If I send out my work into the world, it makes everything a little more real. It will make it all the more real that I am attempting to be a writer like so many others. Am I afraid of failure? Somewhat. I can deal with rejection. I have dealt with worse things. Am I afraid of success? Perhaps. It would make it all the more real, and my name will now be out there. My work will have to stand out there and represent me, and that is a scary prospect to come to turns to. If you wish to be a writer, that is what you will have to deal with. You can make your work that best that you can, and let it stand for itself.

One thing that I must remember as a writer is that some people will love my work, some will hate it, and some will be indifferent to it. It’s all part of achieving the dream of being a writer.

I need to suck it up and be brave and finish my work that has been languishing on my computer. It’s time to put it out there and let the people see it.

It’s time fellow writers to be brave.

Good luck on your projects.

2 thoughts on “And Then You Find Yourself Stopping

  1. Kate April 28, 2014 / 1:54 pm

    It is definitely scary to send your work out. But as someone who has gotten over 100 rejections, most of the rejections are form rejections and I don’t think I had a single agent or publisher who criticized my writing, so if you’re afraid of them tearing you apart, don’t be! I always tried to think of the form rejections as them saying “This isn’t right for me at this time.” That way it doesn’t feel quite so personal.

    • Melena April 28, 2014 / 6:28 pm

      Thank you for the advice. I have only just recently started to send my work out there. A short story that I have been shopping around has gotten two rejections, but I don’t feel discouraged. I have gotten positive feedback from both of them, but it just wasn’t the right story for them.

      I’ll definitely try to not to take it personally.

Leave a Reply

