The Three Month Challenge

Hello fellow writers,

images

As you know I have actively participated in last year’s NaNoWriMo challenge and Camp NaNoWriMo in April and July. For last year’s NaNoWriMo challenge, I attempted to complete a project, (The first book of the Wicked series) I had already begun in my Major project class, and I got up to 28,000 words and stopped. I did not win of course. Over the summer, I participated in Camp NaNoWriMo in April and won and met my goal of 25,000 words, but I did not complete my short story collection. In July, I lost the challenge, but I did manage to complete the third short story in the collection.

There are two stories left in the collection to complete, so I’m placing a challenge on myself. For October, the goal will be to compete in SciFiWriMo, which is challenge for science fiction and fantasy writers. Since it fits the theme of my fantasy short collection, I have set a goal for 10,o00 words for this month.

For November, of course there is NaNoWriMo, the challenge to write 50,000 words in one month. I will attempt to complete this one and write the first book in my fantasy series. I have already outlined a good portion of the book and did a fair amount of research. I’m very excited to work on it.

In December, there is National Novel Finishing Month or NaNoFiMo, which it perfect for finishing my book from NaNoWriMo from last year. The first book in my supernatural series about werewolves, ghouls, and anything else I can think of. I’m going to try and steer away from creatures we’ve seen over and over again, and if I do choose a supernatural creature people are familiar with, I will try to make them as different as possible.

This is the challenge I’m placing on myself. At the end of the year, I hope to complete three projects by the end of the year. I will update the blog every week.  Wish me luck.

Good luck to you on your projects.

3 thoughts on “The Three Month Challenge

  1. lisenminetti October 2, 2013 / 2:20 am

    Good luck – I have been trying a similar thing – a stand alone series wherein the MC is a witch but encounters different supernatural beings in each book. The one I am focusing on for NaNoWriMo is a sasquatch. Being MG I don’t know if I’ll hit 50,000 but I will still love every minute!

    • Lisa October 2, 2013 / 3:15 am

      Thank you.

      My MC finds out her father was a werewolf, and she’s inherited the gene. Now, people are after her because her father was not a good person. Basically, she’ll be facing off against a few mercenary monters sent after her in every book. I think 50,000 is a good starting point, since most of my books are yound adult.

      Good luck to you as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

