Creating a Superhero

Hi friends,

storm-marvel-avengers-alliance

I’ve been thinking a lot about superheroes lately. Mostly with the explosion of superhero movies, which makes me spectacularly happy. I’ve been into superheroes, since I was a little girl. I have memories of watching X-Men and Spiderman cartoons every morning, when a little girl. It evolved into watching Batman Beyond, X-Men: Evolution, Teen Titans, and Justice League later. Then that sort of evolved into going to the movie theater to watch the earlier Batman movies, X-Men, Blade, and Spiderman as the supehero movie genre really took off. As a fan of the genre, I recently began looking at graphic novel and comics. I’m very slowly immersing myself in the genre, but I’m starting to look into superhero fiction. But, I feel like there’s not a lot of it in the novel form.

I’ve read a few of them, and one of my favorites was Soon I Will Be Invincible by Austin Grossman. You get the dual point of view from a villain and a hero that’s part of a team. I much preferred reading about the inner thoughts of Dr. Impossible, the villain.

These thoughts have led me to try and create my own superheroic protagonists. I have came up with a brother and sister team, but I put a twist on it. They are on opposite sides of the law. I’m working on the world building at the moment, and it’s coming along. It also has led me to do a bit of research about creating your own superheroes. Well, we all know about the wealth of superheroes out there. You’re going to end up picking superpowers that have been used over and over again, and that’s okay. The key is make them different as characters and creating a convincing background. You could also come up with different ways to use their powers. That’s what readers are going to connect to. Also, try to come up with a name that hasn’t been used before. I would google your names to make sure they haven’t been used before.

Here are some references you can use to make your own hero:

http://www.wikihow.com/Create-a-Super-Hero

http://www.superheronation.com/

The reason I picked this website is because it helps you create a look for your hero, if you’re not artistically talented (like me) enough to design one yourself. http://marvel.com/games/play/31/create_your_own_superhero

http://io9.com/5771870/how-to-create-your-own-original-superhero-from-scratch

Having a hard time coming up with powers. Take a look at this graph. http://www.wired.com/design/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/superpowers-large.jpg

Hope this helps.

-L. C.

Leave a Reply

