Camp NaNoWriMo: Update 3

Hi friends,

I’m almost a month late in delivering this post and for that I am sorry. It was a lot of family stuff going on this month.

Anyway, I won Camp NaNoWriMo for April. Hooray! *throws confetti*  I am very proud of myself for finally winning a NaNoWriMo challenge. Although,  it did take me three times. (Ha) I managed to complete 2 out of 5 stories. I am halfway into the third story. I haven’t gone back to it in a few weeks to finish it. I feel a little guilty about it, but I don’t want that to diminish my accomplishment of writing 25,000 words in one month. If you’re facing the same dilemma, don’t feel too bad about it. NaNoWriMo is an emotionally draining experience, and it can take a few days or weeks (in my case) to get back on your feet. I’m still proud of the stories I have written. I just need to finish them. In my previous posts, I discussed that my five stories each centered around five sisters, and how different their lives ended up being. The third sister in this story kind of lives in a desert-like world. There are cities stretched across the land, and it becomes very hard to travel between these places.

These short stories have helped me tremendously with starting on the actual book for the fantasy series. I have already started outlining the first book. I have drawn maps for two of the worlds. It really helped with imagining the journey of these characters and the creatures that live there. If you’re having trouble coming up with something for an idea about a novel, I suggest you write a short story or a scene featuring an important character. it could be the protagonist or the antagonist. Put them in a situation where you can get a sense of their characterization. It should be something that tests them. Hopefully, it ignites the story you truly want to tell.

I plan on also participating in Camp NaNoWriMo in July. I am going to try and finish my supernatural series that I started in November this past year. I’ll be aiming for 25,000 words again.

Good luck to you.

Leave a Reply

