On Using Pinterest

Inspiration can come from anywhere. It could come from a song, a photo, a movie, or a line in your favorite book. It could be anywhere. All you have to do is pay attention. Believe it or not, I get my best inspiration, when I’m getting ready to go to sleep, or when I’m getting up in the morning. Sometimes I just lay there and ideas hit me one after another. Then, I have to scurry and write it down in my writing journal, so I don’t forget.

I think it’s important to have a writing journal to store your ideas. There’s no guarantee that you’ll remember it later. For a while, that was my problem. I’d put if off and tell myself, “I’ll remember it in the morning.” (Hint: I never did.) I lost some great scenes or lines because I was too lazy to get out of the bed. Don’t be like the old me. Get up and write that quirky line down or that awesome fight scene because you may not remember it a few hours later.

Another place that I absolutely love and has really helped shape the look of the worlds I’m creating is http://pinterest.com/. I’ve put together different boards for the novels floating around in my head. It helps get a character’s look together. It gives me an idea of what a place should look like. It makes me think about the actual feeling the book should have. It’s even given me inspiration for side characters.

It’s also a great place to start your research about fashion from certain time periods. You could look up fantasy characters, fantasy settings, and fantasy creatures. The same goes for science fiction, fairy tales, supernatural/paranormal, or any other genre you can think of.  I encourage you to give it a try, and see if it helps you streamline your ideas about your characters and the settings. Good luck.

pinterest_logo_red

Leave a Reply

