Camp NaNoWriMo 2013

As you’ve read on my blog, I got halfway through my novel for NaNoWriMo 2012 in November. I still haven’t finished it. I’m still working through some plot points and characterizations that I would like to change. I have this urge to go back and edit the pages I’ve written, instead of continuing on with my novel. I know I’ll finish it eventually.

Anyway, in case some of you didn’t know, NaNoWriMo also hosts Camp NaNoWriMo during the months of April and June. I hope to participate during both of these months.

During April, I’m aiming for 25,000 word count because I’m writing a collection of short stories. These stories are sort of the introduction to the fantasy series I’m working on. Each story focuses on each of the five sisters. (The four sisters are the protags of the series, and one of them is the main antagonist.) It’s sort of their origin stories. I’ve been making great progress with researching for the series so far. The first installment of the series doesn’t need a lot of research because we haven’t traveled to the other worlds I’ve created. It will take place on Earth, in my MC’s hometown. The other books will need a good deal of research though.

In June, I’m hope to work on my fairytale retelling. The most I’ve done for this is name some of my characters. I’m beginning to get excited about this one now. I see this as more of a standalone, but it could become a duology.

Here’s the website if you want to sign up: http://www.campnanowrimo.org/

Since I got such a positive reception about the cover letter, I’ll try putting together a post about different websites that help you find the right literary magazine for your work.  I’ll also put together something about the query letter, when you’re trying to find an agent for your novel.

Leave a Reply

