Staying True to Yourself

I first signed up for NaNoWriMo last year. I won’t even tell you my word count at the end. It was pretty bad. It was a YA novel focused on a young woman who has to take over the care for her younger sister, after her mother emotionally checks out on them. Their mother tragically dies, and they move in with their aunt. The main character finds happiness through a boy and music. It sounds so cliche, doesn’t it? I suppose that’s why I could barely finish it. On top of that fact, I was attempting it under a heavy course load of schoolwork.

It took me a while to figure out that contemporary YA was not exactly the area I wanted to focus an entire novel at the moment. I don’t mind writing realistic fiction. I enjoy writing it, however it’s probably best not to force a story, or it will just turn out plain bad.

It’s important to stay true to yourself. Write the story that most interests you, the one that speaks to you. It’s only when we stay true to our voice that we find the real character’s story that we want to tell. I found which characters I want to talk about. I found the ones whose voice captured me. I can’t wait to share their stories with others. Isn’t that the most important thing?

3 thoughts on “Staying True to Yourself

  1. limebirdbeth October 15, 2012 / 3:17 pm

    Good luck for this year! Mine one last year was terrible, literally just writing nonsense to try and make it come to some kind of logical end!

    • mwashi12 October 15, 2012 / 9:03 pm

      Hahaha. Thank you. I actually have a plan this year. I already have an outline for the book, so now I just have to sit down and write and try to win this year.

      • limebirdbeth October 16, 2012 / 8:53 am

        Oh wow, sounds very organised!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

