Lost Together

Grass. It was the first thing I came in contact with, when I woke up. I was face down in grass, and the small green tufts tickled my nose. I got to my feet and saw a road that was lined with cookie-cutter houses. I was standing on the corner by a street sign. It said Carver Road, but recognition escaped me. I had no idea where I was. Then after a while, with some fear, names, faces, and places disappeared from my head, like water flowing through my hands. I couldn’t even remember my own name. There was a puddle near my feet, and I stared down at it to get a glimpse of my face. My reflection was almost transparent. The rays of the sun seemed to shine right through me and at that moment I knew. But, I didn’t want to believe it.

Cars crept by me, and the road seemed to stretch out in front me. My feet began to move. My destination was unknown; it was just a niggling feeling in the back of my mind, like it was where I was supposed to head, that there was someone I was supposed to meet. This someone was important, and we were supposed to stick together. But for some reason, you had left me.

Days had passed, and none of my memories had returned. I didn’t ask for help; I knew it wouldn’t have helped and that scared me more than I cared to admit. The sun beat down on me as I walked down the sidewalk. The blaring car horns and cacophony of voices swirled together to create the sound of the city. Eyes set on the ground, I walked on. Worn sneakers padded across the cement. A long white piece of shoelace dragged along the dirty walkway. People walked right passed and sometimes right through me. I was invisible to the world. You left me, and I still don’t know why.

I didn’t know where I was going; instinct took over and carried me in this direction. This street seemed familiar, but I couldn’t be certain. I tugged my green and white t-shirt further down and swept my curly, black hair out of my face.  I glanced at all the faces around me but none made sense or looked familiar. Dozens of display windows blurred past me before I stopped and walked back to one in particular. It was a sports store with a famous basketball player’s cardboard cutout placed in the in front of the window. My head did tilt sideways as my thoughts flew to someone else.

I remembered the steady beat of the basketball bouncing on the concrete and your strong hands maneuvering it between your legs. The look of satisfaction as the ball swished through the net. You wanted to go professional. It was your main goal in life. Funny, it was the only thing I could pull from my memories. Everything else was a blank. I can recall your short black hair, the subtle shift of grey in your irises, and the dips and curves of your face; At one time, I traced it with my fingers, trying to memorize it, imprint it on my brain. It seemed like I succeeded.

There was a reason for all of this, my amnesia and your absence, but I couldn’t remember. I wanted to ask someone for help, but it was pointless. Finally with this small hint to who I was, I tried to ask for help, but no one would answer. I had to try something. They ignored me and continued on their way. I grew angry and the feeling of helplessness settled in my stomach. What else could I do?

Time seemed to slow down to an unbearable standstill. The shadows shifted as the day grew long, but I stayed in that spot, afraid to move, afraid to miss something or someone.

I felt it deep down, a strange sense of foreboding. I turned around and looked up and saw your face amidst the sea of bodies. My feet froze in place, and I stared in disbelief. Your large grey eyes gazed back at me.  You came back.

“I can’t believe it,” I whispered.  I ran towards where you stood propped against a pole, dressed in a black jacket and jeans. “How could you leave me?” were the first words out of my mouth.

“I didn’t leave you. We just got separated. I’m sorry it took so long to find you.” You stared at me as if trying to make sure it was really me and not some cruel joke from your unconscious. Tears flew down my face like a tiny stream. I shook my head. A hand grazed across my cheek and wiped them away.

“Your hand is cold,” I mumbled, taking it between mine and trying to rub some heat into it. But, my hand was just as cold.

“You don’t remember, do you? You don’t remember what happen to us?” You stared at me sadly. Your skin seemed pale, almost translucent in the sunlight just like mine.

“I don’t understand. You left me.” I gripped his hand tightly. You tucked your hand under my chin and lifted my head up. “There was a car accident. We died, and I lost track of you, but now I found you.”

That couldn’t be possible, but then I realized it had to be the truth. I had been wandering around for days, not knowing where to go. No one could hear or see me. My own name was a mystery to me. The only thing I could recall was you, so you had to be telling the truth. “I don’t remember anything else, but I do remember that you love basketball.”

You smiled down at me. “Did I? I can only think of the accident and your face. I’ve been searching for you for a while.”

“How did you find me?” I asked, curiously.

“I didn’t know where to look, but then suddenly I had a hunch, and it led me here. And here you are.” You gestured toward me. I couldn’t help but smile.

You held fast to my hand as we walked down the street. People were suddenly gone and cars were lying abandoned by the sidewalks, and the colors were muted and gray, but I didn’t try to figure out what happened. I ignored it and focused on the feeling of your hand in mine. “Where are we going?” I asked.

A frown spread across your face and you shrugged. “I don’t know.”

I said nothing else and followed you down the deserted streets. You’re the only thing I can remember now.

Notes: This story actually stemmed from I dream I had. Don’t run away just because I said that. LOL

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

